Spiced Tofu Scramble

Since I recently moved, I have not had a lot of time to cook or go grocery shopping. I woke up the other morning really wanting a tofu scramble, but soon realized that I was out of olive oil and Earth Balance. That prompted me to look around the kitchen for what little alternatives were available. I settled on sesame oil and went from there.

This tofu scramble is very easy to make and one of the best parts is that I used a lot of side seasoning packets from past takeout meals from various Asian restaurants in the Santa Cruz area. All tofu scrambles are relatively low-cost, even when you expand into different flavoring. The tortillas were given to me by my dad but it is easy to find inexpensive tortillas or even make your own. I got the organic tofu from Safeway and the organic celery from Trader Joe’s, each both less than $3. Trader Joe’s has a small yet inexpensive spice selection available. This recipe made about 2 servings.

Tofu Scramble

Ingredients:

8 oz packet cubed tofu
1-2 stalks of chopped celery
1 tablespoon sesame oil

2 packets (about two tablespoons) of soy sauce 
1/2 teaspoon chili paste
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder or 3 cloves garlic 
1 teaspoon turmeric
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon sesame seeds

Instructions:

  1. Add sesame oil and soy sauce to a pan on medium heat
  2. While waiting for liquids to heat up, drain packet of tofu and chop celery stalks.
  3. When pan is hot enough, add tofu and all other ingredients except sesame seeds
  4. Cook everything together for close to 10 minutes, stirring often to prevent the tofu from sticking to the pan
  5. When cooked through, mix in sesame seeds and turn off heat
  6. Serve with tortilla and enjoy!

I definitely should have used one celery stalk instead of two because it made it taste a little too much like celery but it was not terrible. Anything else can be added to the scramble but this was all I really had around my kitchen. I would love to hear what people make when they have a small ingredient list available in their kitchen. Hope you all are having a wonderful start to summer (if you are in the Western hemisphere, anyways) and enjoy this recipe.

Leave a Reply

