e.l.f. Haul

Hi everyone! I want to apologize for being absent for so long. I took a week off from my classes due to medication making me feel terrible and so I have been catching up with readings, assignments, and checking in with my professors and TAs. A couple of weeks ago, I thought I lost my expensive Lime Crime eyeliner so I ordered a bunch of stuff from e.l.f., including their Precision Liquid Eyeliner to replace it. Though I still have a lot of Lime Crime products and use them, you can read here about why I will no longer be buying from the company. I see no need to throw away products if my viewpoint on a company changes because it is wasteful. I have always hated wasting things and strive to minimize waste as much as possible.

Going back to my e.l.f. purchase, I spent $35.48 altogether (including shipping & taxes) and received the following:

e.l.f. haul

Phew! That’s a lot of stuff, especially with the Endless Looks Kit (included a brush, eyeliner, mascara, & the color palette). I have only tried out the lip stain, foundation, & makeup remover wipes. I really do not like the lip stain. It was hard to apply and was even more difficult to remove. It is priced at $2 and I think I would only wear it as a base under lipstick when I have the time to maneuver the stain correctly. Otherwise, it is not worth it.

However, I do like the foundation. I used to wear Bare Escentuals bareMinerals foundation and concealer but their parent company is not cruelty free. The e.l.f. foundation, in comparison to bareMinerals, is not as soft and powdery but it applies well. I only wear liquid concealer and foundation when my skin is not dry. Otherwise, my skin looks flakey. Powder mineral makeup is part of my everyday makeup application because it is quick to apply and is natural looking. Having combination skin also makes my face prone to breakouts if it is layered in too much makeup and powder mineral makeup minimizes the risks of breakouts. I would recommend trying e.l.f.’s powder foundations.

The makeup remover wipes are great! I also use Yes to products to help clear off my makeup, specifically Yes to Cucumbers Facial Wipes. Yes to is more expensive ($6 for 30 ct on their website. I buy my Yes to products at local drug stores) and does not take off my mascara very well. e.l.f. makeup remover wipes work better and are half the price ($3 online) but they have a harsh sunscreen smell to them. I always wash my face after I use makeup remover wipes, even if the wipes claim to fully clean. I do not like the residue I get from a lot of wipes and feel cleaner with a full face wash.

Let me know if you have any questions about the products I briefly reviewed! I will continue to review the products listed once I use them. Hope everyone has a Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

