Meatless Meatballs

A couple weeks ago I had cravings for meatless meatballs. I follow Gardein on a few social media sites and their meatless meatballs are pretty dang good and when I saw them pop up on my Instagram newsfeed, I knew I had to satiate my cravings somehow. I looked up easy vegan meatball recipes and lentils seemed to be the reoccurring trend as the main ingredient.

I used quinoa as a binder. I have a four pound bag of TruRoots quinoa, which is around $30 on Amazon but it lasts awhile since a 1/2 cup is a good single serving. I will be sure to look into more affordable quinoa though. Just a note, I’m guessing on the spice measurements. Since I made this recipe from scratch, I didn’t pay much attention to exact measurements. I rarely use measurements when I’m cooking and base it on taste so please feel free to add more spices if they’re to your taste. Any other Italian spices would be a great addition to this recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup small green lentils
3-4 cups of water
1/2 cup quinoa
1/4 cup of chopped yellow onion
2 cloves of garlic
2 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
1 tablespoon olive oil

Instructions:

  1. Cook 1 cup of lentils with 2 cups of water for 35-40 minutes or until all the water has been absorbed.
  2. Cook 1/2 cup quinoa with 1 cup of water for 15 minutes.
  3. While waiting for lentils and quinoa to cook, slice up onions and garlic.
  4. Preheat oven to 350º.
  5. After lentils and quinoa have cooked and slightly cooled, add rest of ingredients to food processor or blender. The fourth cup of water should be used in small amounts to make sure ingredients blend smoothly. Make sure the mix is not too watery though or else the meatballs won’t keep their shape.
  6. Use either a cupcake tray to hold mixture or roll mixture into desired size of meatball and place on cookie tray lined with parchment paper.
  7. Bake meatballs for 40 minutes. Make sure the outside browns nicely and is no longer soft. The inside should still be slightly soft though.
  8. Serve with sauce for a meatless meatball sub or use to top pasta dishes and don’t forget to enjoy!

IMG_3405

I hope my instructions and ingredient sizes make sense. This is one of my first personal recipes and again, I have yet to perfect measurements. If you try the recipe please be sure to comment on what you thought, positive or negative.

Leave a Reply

