Introduction

Hello! As mentioned in the “About” section of this blog, I’m Sophia Redfern. I’m about to start my third year at University of California Santa Cruz (go slugs!) and am double majoring in History of Art & Visual Culture and Literature. I am 20 years old and live in lovely Santa Cruz with my wonderful boyfriend, Carlos, and our fantastic roommate, Jared. I have been vegan for 3 years and counting. I do not consume any sort of animal product, wear animal products, or use products that have been tested on animals or contain animal ingredients.

For the past year, I’ve thought about creating a blog in relation to the vegan lifestyle as a college student. I am no guru but I do get a lot of questions from friends (mostly not vegan, believe it or not) about affordable cruelty free and/or vegan products. I do not work during the school year so I have a set monthly income from my parents (love you guys!). I also love getting a good deal when I go shopping for food because I cook a lot at home.

My initial hopes are for this blog are:

  • to write reviews on any household or beauty products I buy
  • to compare prices of food items from the surrounding grocery stores
  • to post affordable recipes
  • to post a couple times a week

I might also occasionally throw in posts about trending news topics that relate to the vegan lifestyle. In regards to my last bullet point, I am a college student. Both my majors require a lot of writing and I am starting to take only upper division classes, which require more work. That being said, I am excited to see how this blog develops and I hope you are too. Thank you for checking out Academic Herbivore!

Leave a Reply

